New from Michigan - cold start issue

pioneerjay

pioneerjay

Dec 25, 2022
Ownership

1. 1000-5
Merry Christmas, folks! My name is Jay. I'm a new SXS owner - I recently purchased a 2017 Pioneer 1000-5. Has only 500 miles on it, came with installed winch and snow plow. Now since I'm new to the SXS game, I'll say that I'm making discoveries as I go along. My initial reason for buying the pioneer was for yard use, snow plowing and FUN. Everything on the machine worked great in warmer temps. However, my first slap in the face came today as I made my first attempt at plowing. First off, the battery almost always needs a jump when I start in below freezing temps. (I have not put it on a tender and it's roughly 15 degrees outside currently). The engine fires right up on a jump. HOWEVER, as soon as I engage the winch (In/Out), the battery kills immediately. I'm not an expert on amperage or batteries or UTV wiring. But I'm pretty intuitive. I know that a winch pulls a lot of power, and clearly the battery is not ready for it. As I sit here unable to operate my new snow machine, I'm wondering: 1) Is the battery old 2) If I just bought a tender kept the battery on it in cold weather, would that be enough 3) Is something else stealing power, or is power being overdrawn due to a wiring issue. If you encountered this problem with your first UTV, what would be your diagnostic steps to solve the issue? Thanks!

TripleB

TripleB

Lifetime Member
Aug 13, 2018
Caryville, Tennessee
Ownership

1. 1000-3

2. 1000-5
My money says the battery is junk.
Screenshot 20221225 162446 Brave

Buy a new battery. Free shipping and no tax.

Smitty335

Smitty335

Lifetime Member
Supporting Member
Oct 3, 2016
NWA Arkansas
Ownership

1. 1000-3

2. 1000-5