P500 Rugged Radio Install

L

lazypengu1n

May 15, 2021
Live Free or Die
Ownership

1. 520
Rugged Radio RRP364 Intercom and ICOM F5021 Radio

I picked up the eBay bundle from Ruggged Radio for $450 + $33 shipping and a used ICOM F5021 Business radio. I am also a licensed General HAM operator. The radio allows passenger and driver to talk and also listen to any bluetooth device. It also has the ability to connect to a radio and I wanted something that could be programmed on the MURS channels 1 through 5. This way when I am hunting with my friends, I can drop them of at different locations and we can always be in contact without having to hump all over the fields to find each other. Makes it easier to coordinate things.

On to the install. This bracket is a universal one from Rugged Radio made specifically for the ICOM F5021 and an intercom. I was hoping that the bracket was the same size as the area to the left of the right cup holder but no dice. I finally decided the cleanest install was to flip the bracket upside down and dremel (using the plastic cutting disc makes way better cuts) to cut a slot on the upper left hand side of the dash so then I could stick the corner of the bracket in it and make everything line up. I decided on the lower ridge was perfect. I flipped the bracket so the legs that hold the radios were facing towards me and I used a marker to make the cuts and installed the bracket. I opted for the support bracket as well and had to cut off the right side of the it to clear the cup holder.

Radio A

That left me with the original lower left hole and I used that to run the wire for the radio mic connection. Here it is installed and powered on.

Radio C

Here is a view of the back side of the radios, the ICOM does not touch the plastic below it.

Radio D

Question here - I have the accessory harness but was trying to decide if it was worth to connect the radio here or directly to the battery. Has anyone else run a bus bar to the front? Is it a PITA?