BOX1

Takeover Radio Review.

Pioneerlife

Pioneerlife

Mar 15, 2017
Bremen,al
Ownership

1. 1000-5
After going to the takeover at RRB, I realized that having a radio would be a great "neccassity" (check spelling lol) to have. I just read all the pre-takeover radio talk and was wondering if I could get some feed back. How did your radio do while at the takeover? Im curious with its range due to mtns, hills, n hollers. All of this is helping me make a little better decision on what excatly to buy. Your input would be greatly appreciated.

Reactions: Mudder and sharp
Hondasxs

Hondasxs

Club Founder
Staff member
Lifetime Member
Supporting Member
Feb 13, 2013
Charlotte, NC
HondaSxS.com
Ownership

1. 1000-5
I am still learning myself about these. They are great and fairly cheap.
Anyways,
Communication between leader and the tail is most important, making radios a priceless tool.
We tend to stick to FRS or GMRS frequencies as we qualify to use them under the licenses restrictions, currently.

There is so much info on this topic. The most useful info might not be discussed because you need a "ham Licenses" to use it legally. Many of use may or may not been using them in this area will call the "unknown".

ohanacreek

ohanacreek

My EcoBoost has I4WD
Lifetime Member
Jul 25, 2013
Shelby County, Alabama
Ownership

1. 1000-5
Having to have ham liscense is a deal breaker for me. Im leaning more towards a two way set up. But didnt know how well the range was in the mtns, hills, and hollers. Does a CB radio use the same frequency's as two way's? If so I'd be interested in possibly putting in a cb.

CB is a narrow set of frequencies around 27mhz, HAM licenses encompass a WIDE range of frequencies in ranges from @135khz all the way up over 300ghz, technically if you had the correct "HAM" radio you could talk to CB radios.

A mobile "HAM" will be better than any CB simply because of the output power and frequencies ability to penetrate foliage vs a CB radio.