P700 Clutch Adjustment

20steven09

Aug 27, 2019
Missouri
Ownership

1. 700-4
Hey everyone

I am new to SxS’s and new to the forum. I recently purchased a new 2018 700-4 and I have some issues.

Whenever I am cruising and lightly keep the gas peddle pushed down it sounds like it’s constantly trying to switch gear or get into gear and when I press on the gas more it goes away. Only makes this weird noise whenever I am cruising and trying to just enjoy the ride but all I hear is a constant noise that’s like a grrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

It also does every now and then lose power while I am accelerating like it couldn’t shift and the mph blinks I let off the gas all the way then push on the gas again and it will shift and work fine. Some times it happened back to back to back but most of the time it just happens once in awhile.

I just reached 100 miles / 8 hours so it’s due for its first service but was trying to put a couple more hours on before I took it in.

I’ve googled and searched and haven’t found anything that says how to adjust the clutch on the 700? I’ve seen YouTube videos and post about the 500 but not the 700.

So now my questions

1. Can you adjust the clutch and how do you do it?

2. Loss of power have to do with it not shifting properly?

3. Any idea on that noise mentioned while under light constant throttle?

4. Should I take it to dealer ASAP for service and issues since it’s under warranty?

Thanks for the help!!

Hondasxs

Hondasxs

Club Founder
Staff member
Lifetime Member
Supporting Member
Feb 13, 2013
Charlotte, NC
HondaSxS.com
Ownership

1. 1000-5

2. Talon R
Hi.
I cant offer much advice on the clutch, I know it has one, well 3 actually, yet the main drive force is the torque converter. That requires a good bit of oil to function properly.

Make sure your oil level is correct. Actually the 700 seems to like it a little on the high side. Overfill will cause issues too. So keep it just below the high mark on the dip stick.