P1000 Driving through water

B

BrotherNov

Lifetime Member
Nov 6, 2019
Springfield, IL
Ownership

1. 1000-5
Total newbi here. I've been reading this forum for months though, and one of the things I read at least twice was "read the owners manual completely". Well, I'm most of the way though it, and I read that I need to make sure any water I drive though in not more than 10" deep. Are you kidding me? I'm still completely stock, just bought it 6 days ago, but it's got 12" of ground clearance, and I assumed it had the capability to get through a puddle at least a little higher than that. Help me out here, I don't want to drive 90+ miles to a park with trails only to f*** my buggy up or get stuck on the first ride. How concerned should I be?

J

JTW

Lmao.. run a vent line kit and you’ll be golden. That’s assuming you bought a new machine. The air intake was changed mid 2017 to allow for better water intrusion protection. You’ll see many of us with snorkels and such for added protection. But realistically, you’ll be fine to ride.

0860silverado

Lifetime Member
May 25, 2017
louisiana
Ownership

1. 1000-3
Total newbi here. I've been reading this forum for months though, and one of the things I read at least twice was "read the owners manual completely". Well, I'm most of the way though it, and I read that I need to make sure any water I drive though in not more than 10" deep. Are you kidding me? I'm still completely stock, just bought it 6 days ago, but it's got 12" of ground clearance, and I assumed it had the capability to get through a puddle at least a little higher than that. Help me out here, I don't want to drive 90+ miles to a park with trails only to f*** my buggy up or get stuck on the first ride. How concerned should I be?