P1000 Electrical question - switching accessories to auxiliary battery.

G

Guyonacouch

May 21, 2020
Minnesota
Ownership

1. 1000-5
I’ve just installed a dual battery set up. The previous owner installed a heater and windshield wiper that I would like to now run off of the auxiliary battery. It appears that the power for the accessories currently run from a fuse box into the main battery via a single positive cable with an in-line fuse and a ground wire running directly to the main battery. Is switching these accessories to the auxiliary battery as simple as just moving that positive and negative wire over to the auxiliary battery? I see there is a 3rd spliced wire coming out of that fuse box that is hooked up so these accessories only with with a key on. Wiring newbie here. Thanks.

Reactions: TxDoc
JoeyL

JoeyL

Lifetime Member
Jan 28, 2020
Houston
Ownership

1. 1000-5
Is switching these accessories to the auxiliary battery as simple as just moving that positive and negative wire over to the auxiliary battery?
yes it should be
how is your dual battery setup installed? are the batteries totally separate? are they hooked together in a simple parallel arrangement or do you have an isolator?

I see there is a 3rd spliced wire coming out of that fuse box that is hooked up so these accessories only with with a key on. Wiring newbie here.
im not sure what you are describing here. post some pictures and we can figure it out im sure

Reactions: Guyonacouch
G

Guyonacouch

May 21, 2020
Minnesota
Ownership

1. 1000-5