P500 EMP vs OEM Hard Top

Slayer

Slayer

Jul 3, 2019
Louisiana
Ownership

1. 500
Getting ready to pull the trigger on a 500 this week. The only dealer option i am considering is the factory hard top. I think it will either be that or order an EMP poly hard top. Have searched the forum and cant really find much on the EMP. Those of you with a poly hard top, which do you prefer and why?

Reactions: 500oneer
DG Rider

DG Rider

Member: Triple Clutch Club
Lifetime Member
Aug 14, 2013
Casa Grande, AZ
Ownership

1. 700-2
I think the EMP plastic is fairly new. I'd never seen it until you posted.

Personally, I think the factory roof looks the best, but the price difference is big. And it drips rain right on your balls. The EMP has rain rails, so I'd take it.

SILVER_ALERT

SILVER_ALERT

HONDA SXS Club Flounder
Lifetime Member
Supporting Member
Jan 6, 2016
Route 66 Oklahoma
Ownership

1. 500
I have no experience with the EMP plastic roof, but I have the EMP aluminum roof, and the fit and fit and finish was good on it, as well as the quick shipping from EMP. No "rain dripping on your balls" either. :)

Slayer

Slayer

Jul 3, 2019
Louisiana
Ownership

1. 500
I think the EMP plastic is fairly new. I'd never seen it until you posted.

Personally, I think the factory roof looks the best, but the price difference is big. And it drips rain right on your balls. The EMP has rain rails, so I'd take it.
This is exactly what I was looking for.....I knew the EMP had the rain rails, but didnt realize that oem did not. I guess their setup is more for rigs with a full windshield.

dls1966

dls1966

Mar 4, 2018
Kawkawlin Michigan
Ownership

1. 500
I've got the OEM roof on my 500 and haven't had any problems but I also have the oem windshield,doors
I think all the after market parts are quality made and in some cases alot cheaper but you need to keep in consideration any future purchases and weather they work together

Mudder

Mudder

NTC Ambassador of Walls
Lifetime Member
Oct 1, 2016