P1000m5 Engine Heat - Good or Bad?

UKNB

UKNB

Apr 18, 2017
Fredericton NB Canada
Ownership

1. 1000-5
I'm new to SxSs and reading a lot about heat radiating up from the engine creating a lot of heat around seat, legs and feet in the SxSs of today. I'm thinking that may be a good thing during cold weather running? Can you feel warmth from the engine during cold weather?

I have a new 1000-5 LE coming next week and I'm reading about summer running and heat from engines on warm days. Is it a common mod for users to add heat shields? Is it a low speed issue? Or at normal running speeds is it the same experience?

Saw a posting here about a reversible ducted fan in the engine compartment. Neat idea.

Reactions: Shannon840
Ridem32

Ridem32

Apr 28, 2016
Terry
Hot running slow or fast. The 17 model might be better.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Reactions: UKNB
joeymt33

joeymt33

i4WD=imitated 4WD
Lifetime Member
Supporting Member
Club Contributor
Mar 17, 2015
Guntersville, AL
Ownership

1. 1000-3

2. 1000-5
Heat shields are a fairly simple mod and can be removed for the winter. Check it out for yourself and you may not mind it. But if you do, we got your back.

17d08ef902ce1f151d6882453acf055e

Ridem32

Ridem32

Apr 28, 2016
Terry
I think the 17 model comes with a heat shield under the seat.

M

Montana

Oct 29, 2015
The heat under the seat is an issue but the air thru the shifters is VERY BAD both when trying to stay warn or cool. In the winter the air comming thru the shifter is cold and more air than the heater puts out. Summer is burning hot. I hope Honda has a fix by now

Reactions: AZhunter and UKNB
J

Jshell3

I think the 17 model comes with a heat shield under the seat.

It's really not much of an upgrade. Like a wide rubber inner-tube stretched across the width of the seat.

Like the under the driver's seat on a 16, all the way across tho.

Reactions: Shannon840 and UKNB
Ridem32

Ridem32

Apr 28, 2016
Terry