HARD SHIFT (Automatic mode)

D

Danno13154

Oct 23, 2017
Oklahoma
Ownership

1. 500
Hello, I'm Danno13154

I am new to Honda I just bought a 2017 p500 (for $5889!! Can you believe it?) and i love it. My only concern is in automatic mode I am almost thrown out of the machine every time it shifts. The dealer told me it will shift hard until it is broken in. Is this true or is there something i can adjust? I have watched videos on clutch adjustment but don't want to do anything until i hear from you guys. I only have 20 miles on it so far.

Here is a little info about me to begin with!
Honda SxS ownership : Yes, this is my first.
I have owned, or currently own the following: UTV
My off-road experience level is: Novice
My favorite place to ride is: around the deer lease

R-Lamm

R-Lamm

Lifetime Member
Sep 27, 2017
South Carolina
Ownership

1. 500
Welcome from SC!!!

Don't think you are alone there. I am in same boat...breaking mine in and it does shift pretty hard in AM. Rumor has that once we do the first maintenance on it that it makes a WORLD of difference. Mine is easing up some already and I have not hit my maintenance yet. My plan was to "break it in" then do my maintenance and see if then I need to make my adjustments. That is my plan I formulated from LOTS of research on here and listening to folks with a LOT more experience! :) Great people here who love to help ya out when they can!

Congrats on new machine! Awesome deal (but that is just the start of it ;)) and glad to see another P500 on here!!! Have fun!!!

Bigtee

Bigtee

Lifetime Member
Supporting Member
Aug 20, 2017
Grayson, KY
Ownership

1. 520

2. 1000-5
Welcome from Kentucky

J

JTW

That’s a great deal!! It will get better but it’s never a “smooth” shift... it’s basically like a Forman with electric thumb shift and they’re a little clunky at times.

Reactions: R-Lamm
JACKAL

JACKAL

Ancient Honda fanboi
Lifetime Member
Supporting Member
Club Contributor
Jun 11, 2015
Pioneer, TN
Ownership