P500 Honda Accessories

G

gmcbob

Jul 28, 2017
Kansas
Ownership

1. 500
Morning Riders,
I am not a 500 owner yet but hope to be this week. I have plenty of trail experience on my old, trusty Honda 1970 SL350 K1 (a treat to myself after returning from Vietnam) and more recently on a buddies extra Kawasaki Prairie 360 ATV. Have been educating myself on the subject of SxS by reading this Forum. The lack of a front diff lock was going to be a deal killer I thought but most here on the board seem to manage quite well without one. So, thanks for sharing your knowledge and experience!

First question this morning is on Honda Accessories pricing. I assume dealers have a markup on those and might negotiate on a list of accessories in order to help seal the deal on a new machine. That has been my experience when buying cars and trucks over the years. What has been your experience with Honda SxS? Any way to save money on genuine Honda accessories by buying at the beginning?

Second question involves the installation of a winch. Most instruction sheets for accessories are 1-2 pages long and list 3 or 4 parts, mostly small bolts. The instructions for the Honda winch is 16 pages long with a suggestion not to DIY without training. Should I be intimidated? I can read and I follow directions well. (Been married almost 39 years.)

Thanks for your comments.
Bob

JACKAL

JACKAL

Ancient Honda fanboi
Lifetime Member
Supporting Member
Club Contributor
Jun 11, 2015
Pioneer, TN
Ownership

1. Other Brand

2. 1000-5
Morning Riders,