P500 I am all that is man

J

Jshell3

Have a tear in my front right CV Boot. I've spoken about it before.

Well, I debated about a replacing the whole axle or buy a boot repair kit.
Ballpark prices go:
  • Axle - $206 Honda OE from dealer
  • Repair kit - $30 from the dealer.
Until @FuzzyGrub and @ehart814 started a thread about a parts P500 on eBay.

Axel I needed was $119 and looked to be in pretty good shape. So I ordered it.

It came in today. I put it in w NO HELP from YouTube. (That's why I am all that is man!)

I've discovered at age 39, I'm a better mechanic than I am a carpenter. Basically mechanicing is like a puzzle. (unlike carpentry, which is more like building something from scratch)

I'm kicking myself for not making a YouTube video of it. But when I started, I had no idea if I could finish it on my own. And who wants to watch a guy failing at something on YouTube? (Don't answer that)

The brake system has to come off completely.
There are a couple of mud deflecting plastics that have to be removed.
Hub nut (30mm), rotor, shock, and ball joints...

Then there's always the "Will it come out when I yank on it?" moment with the axle, itself.

So this thread, I'll leave it here for anyone who needs a coach to walk them through... just ask for help. I have a mind like a steel trap!
I think I still remember the socket sizes to every bolt!
Ha!

Last edited by a moderator:
FuzzyGrub

FuzzyGrub

Sep 19, 2014
Rural NY
www.joefishin.com
Ownership

1. 500
A braver man than I :) Without instruction, I usually end up with broken parts, missing parts, need tools I don't have, or any number of other frustrating dead ends. Congrats!

Reactions: JTW
Hondasxs

Hondasxs

Club Founder
Staff member
Feb 13, 2013
Charlotte, NC
HondaSxS.com
Ownership

1. 1000-5

2. Talon R
Good job @Jshell3.
Glad you got it completed fairly well. Hopefully you want have to do it again any time soon.

Reactions: Jshell3
LandPioneer

LandPioneer

Lifetime Member
Aug 22, 2016
Lebanon TN