P1000 Loud Clunk when shifting into reverse

W

wesley2012

Jan 1, 2020
AK
Ownership

1. Do not currently own
First post, great forum, thank you all for the information so far! I am new to side by sides, always have run Honda atvs. I am looking at purchasing a used 2017 Honda Pioneer 1000-5. Seems like a decent machine, with about 2500 miles on it. Everything looks good except some minor scrapes and scratches. Fluids and air intake are all nice and clean. Took it for a mile ride and shifts good, tracks straight, no issues I can find. Owner states he has had all the recalls and repairs completed at the dealership. Dealership is closed, will verify that in the morning.

Only issue I have is when shifting from park, neutral, high, or low into reverse. There is one heck of a clunk. This is when shifting at a standstill, I never shifted it when moving. Does not seem to matter if on a hill or flat. I shifted into reverse over 30 times, in all modes of 2WD, 4WD, etc. 90% of the time it would make this clunk. Didn't seem to matter whether really babying the trottle or not. Hard to tell, it was windy, but seemed like the sound would come from the rear sometimes and other times from the front. No clunk in any other gear, just in the first couple of feet of travel going into reverse. Also, it seems like the machine starts moving, then clunks and keeps moving. Owner said it has always done that, he has owned it over a year and 1,000ish miles. Drove in reverse quite a ways, no further issue, only at intitial shift.

This happen to anyone else? I did some searching and saw a couple different scenarios, just looking for someone else who has experienced this and what the fix was. Thank you.

Wes

Russ989

Russ989

Land of the free because of the Brave! 🇺🇸
Lifetime Member
Supporting Member
Club Contributor
Dec 18, 2017
Missouri
Ownership

1. 1000-5