• Welcome to HONDASXS.com

    If you are a guest please take time to REGISTER with us. Stay up to date on the Honda Side by Side line and take part in our online forum. Check out the FAQ. Once you register you can start to make post. Users will respond to your question or statement. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit below or click the board index to see a list of all forums. Thanks and have fun.

P1000 P1k and talon ecu swap

Discussion in 'Pioneer 1000 Accessories and Modifications' started by Louisiana_93, Sep 1, 2019.

Tags:
  1. Louisiana_93

    Louisiana_93 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    71454
    Ownership:
    1000-5
    I have read it on this site that someone swapped a talon ecu into a pioneer I've also talked to this person about it on that thread but didnt get all the questions I had answered. I would love to boost the power in the pioneer. Thanks
     
    BWAF likes this.
  2. ohanacreek

    ohanacreek My EcoBoost has I4WD
    Moderator Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Messages:
    10,457
    Likes Received:
    27,538
    Location:
    Shelby County, Alabama
    Ownership:
    1000-5
    You can, but you need the PCV with Autotune at a minimum. It WILL NOT run without the PCV. 4WD indicator doesn’t work correctly unless you have LE.


    You only get the reduced torque management the Talon has, and the slight bump in low end grunt you get from the PCV. It makes a big difference in drivability with bigger tires in rocks but you won’t see big numbers on a dyno.

    I would put the stock ECU in the glove box in a couple zip locks with rice/desiccant. If the PCV craps out you’re dead on the trail with the Talon ECU, you can swap them and keep going.
     
    Tigermark, Plumber32 and BWAF like this.
  3. Louisiana_93

    Louisiana_93 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    71454
    Ownership:
    1000-5
    Would I be better off with just the pcv because I have a 2016 base ... no i4wd
     
    BWAF likes this.
  4. ohanacreek

    ohanacreek My EcoBoost has I4WD
    Moderator Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Messages:
    10,457
    Likes Received:
    27,538
    Location:
    Shelby County, Alabama
    Ownership:
    1000-5
    It removes some of the torque management that is present in the pioneer ECU.

    I haven’t done it yet, but I know several who have already and it’s an improvement in low end grunt that will let you climb a ledge better in low range.
     
    ByronM, Tigermark and BWAF like this.
  5. Louisiana_93

    Louisiana_93 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    71454
    Ownership:
    1000-5
    I hear alot of people talk about this torque management but I'm not sure what exactly it is or does ...
     
  6. ohanacreek

    ohanacreek My EcoBoost has I4WD
    Moderator Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Messages:
    10,457
    Likes Received:
    27,538
    Location:
    Shelby County, Alabama
    Ownership:
    1000-5
  7. Louisiana_93

    Louisiana_93 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    71454
    Ownership:
    1000-5
    With all the information you've helped me with. I believe I have come to the decision I'm going to get the power comander and AT cam and springs... unless you were talking about the talon ecu removing some torque management then I'll get the talon ecu I'm not exactly sure which one you were referring to lol
     
  8. Hondasxs

    Hondasxs Club Founder
    Staff Member Vendor Lifetime Member Club Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    11,626
    Likes Received:
    24,054
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Ownership:
    1000-5
    Or..
    Someone needs to send their Pioneer ecu off to be programmed and report back.
    After you invest in a PC with Autotune you will come out cheaper.

    This weekend we were testing the power commander with talon ecu. At some point it messed up and we had to remove it. Out on the trail we really dont know what messed up but it quit working and installing the Pioneer ecu got us mo ing again.

    Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
     
    pct, Tigermark and GPR1500SC like this.
  9. Louisiana_93

    Louisiana_93 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    71454
    Ownership:
    1000-5
    I wouldnt mind test the reflash but the issue is I've messaged a few different people or sellers or whatever they are about warranty on the pioneer if the dealer refreshes back to stock if I would just be screwed out of a tune but none has messaged me back and that's been over a month ago so I'm not gonna trust someone that wont answer a simple question
     
    Tigermark and Plumber32 like this.
  10. ohanacreek

    ohanacreek My EcoBoost has I4WD
    Moderator Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Messages:
    10,457
    Likes Received:
    27,538
    Location:
    Shelby County, Alabama
    Ownership:
    1000-5
    Talon ECU REQUIRES the PCV W/Autotune

    You can do the AT cam but it takes a mod to the chain and gear as well. It’s not just swapping the cam. Another member did it and it added 26% fuel with an aftermarket exhaust, it looses bottom end with the AT cam, you’ll need an IGR and some electronic widgets that make the speed sensors read what the ECU expects and to modify the shift solenoid for it to shift right.

    I would just do the Talon ECU and Autotune, carry the stock ECU with you. It’s a big enough increase in useable/available power that it’s worth it. The AT cam opens a can of worms that you have to fix.
     
    Tigermark and Plumber32 like this.
  11. Louisiana_93

    Louisiana_93 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    71454
    Ownership:
    1000-5

    The cam seemed like an easier thing but I'll take your word for it. And the ecu isnt expensive either ill just try to get all that probably around January. I'm also curious if the talon cam would be easier and what it would do for the p1k I haven't even googled that yet. Dude thanks again for your help and to everyone else on this site who have the money and balls to hack into these machines to test this stuff. I get nervous with buying expensive parts just to test if it would work lol but thanks again brother I appreciate the help.
     
  12. ohanacreek

    ohanacreek My EcoBoost has I4WD
    Moderator Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Messages:
    10,457
    Likes Received:
    27,538
    Location:
    Shelby County, Alabama
    Ownership:
    1000-5
    Talon cam is more aggressive than the AT cam, and Ive been told you'd need the Talon injectors on top of all the stuff for the AT cam swap,(edit: to be able to make the Talon cam swap work correctly.)
     
    #12 ohanacreek, Sep 1, 2019
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2019
  13. Louisiana_93

    Louisiana_93 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    71454
    Ownership:
    1000-5

    Cam gears are ok with that swap or no?
     
  14. ohanacreek

    ohanacreek My EcoBoost has I4WD
    Moderator Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Messages:
    10,457
    Likes Received:
    27,538
    Location:
    Shelby County, Alabama
    Ownership:
    1000-5
    Yes you have to swap the gear and chain to swap cam. Its an undertaking, and because of the loss of the low end power you have to do the IGR which then makes you mod the shift solenoid and add $200 in electronics to get the trans to shift right.

    Theres machining of the case for the IGR and the Cam gear and chain to fit as well.
     
  15. Louisiana_93

    Louisiana_93 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    71454
    Ownership:
    1000-5
    I'll just leave the cam alone
     
  16. JTW

    JTW God's favorite member.
    Lifetime Member Club Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2016
    Messages:
    20,808
    Likes Received:
    61,661
    Location:
    Kentucky
    Ownership:
    1000-5
    So I’m not sold on the talon ECU just yet... still need to do some tweaking and figure a few things out. The power commander and auto tune I liked by themselves. But I would suggest folks holding off on the ecu until we get a few things figured out.
     
    pct, Tigermark, Plumber32 and 3 others like this.
  17. GPR1500SC

    GPR1500SC Well-Known Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    960
    Location:
    Memphis MO
    Ownership:
    1000-5
    I would give a reflash a try.
    Current set up
    AT throttle body adapter (boring the stock restrictor is better), AT cam, cat removed from stock muffler Talon ECU, and PVC with auto tune.

    I have a Talon throttle body and injectors to try when ever I get some time to install them.
    With the current setup it does run better than stock but still don't run as good as I think it could for all the money I spent.
    From a dead stop just mashing the gas it will Squall the tires and lay about six inch long black marks with 29 inch MotoClaws in it stock form it would have never consider doing that.

    To install the AT cam you need to run the stock cam gear as the AT cam gear and chain is wider so it don't have timing marks, so if you don't understand mechanics don't try it.
    Other than that the cam install is straight forward and easy to do, also you should put the AT exhaust valve springs in.

    I am not trying to come here and say look what I got it is really fast because it is not but it does run better and it is fun to ride, the power right of the line with the Talon ECU feels good then there is this flat line until about 3,500 rpm's then she opens up.

    The worst complaint I have with the Talon ECU is it shifts at 5,000 RPM's, I don't have IGR and don't need it, or any speed sensor pulse modifiers.
     
    CumminsPusher, pct, Tigermark and 2 others like this.
  18. GPR1500SC

    GPR1500SC Well-Known Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    960
    Location:
    Memphis MO
    Ownership:
    1000-5
    What did I tell you? LOL to wait on a reflash maybe?
     
    pct and Plumber32 like this.
  19. GPR1500SC

    GPR1500SC Well-Known Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    960
    Location:
    Memphis MO
    Ownership:
    1000-5
    My stock injectors are working fine.
     
    CumminsPusher, pct and Plumber32 like this.
  20. GPR1500SC

    GPR1500SC Well-Known Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    960
    Location:
    Memphis MO
    Ownership:
    1000-5
    I sent my stock ECU off to Zmorris I texted him Friday he said he could communicate with it but was to busy to work on it I am hoping for some good things from that.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
Loading...