P700 Quit,Won't Start

R

Reaver

Jan 3, 2017
Costa Rica
Ownership

1. 700-4
Hey all. I'm in the Jungles of Costa Rica with limited resources, like good internet.

2014 P700-4, so single spark etc. I'm a competent mechanic but this has me stumped. I can't just swap parts on a whim.

Runs for 3-5 minutes then quits like it's out of gas. Has been getting worse till now, it is a hard fail today where it usually started up after maybe 30 mins then would run fine for days. I don't have the fancy Honda tools. I DO have the manual.

7K miles
NO MIL light
Full of fresh fuel, NO trace of water or dirt when drained (never mudded, river ran)
Pump runs as it should
Air filter fine, oil full
Starting fluid does not help, suggesting electrical
Battery great
new plug and cap installed 5 hours run time ago (old cap fell apart internally as they do)
battery voltage at coil
Engine cranks very well
Spark seems intermittent, sometimes a yellow spark (weak) but still doesn't fire with nice blue sparks.
Engine cranks a few revs, then spark starts seemingly at every TDC, then only on the power stroke.
I tried an Ign coil from a Yamaha Rhino with no change in symptoms
Injector clicks when power applied independently, no fire with ether tho anyway.
Sometimes fires a couple times then nothing

If I was in the States, I'd throw parts at it. Here, I will have to wait a month at twice the price.

Just looking for ideas, thanks.

tjoreo

tjoreo

Lifetime Member
Feb 18, 2015
Southern Idaho
Ownership

1. 1000-5
It seems like you have hit everything I could think of. The only thing I don't see or may have read over could maybe be a valve adjustment or check compression?? You might do a little looking to see if some rincons might of had the same probems or one other thing I might recommend is to hit up toodeep on the other forum.

joeymt33

joeymt33

i4WD=imitated 4WD
Lifetime Member
Supporting Member
Club Contributor
Mar 17, 2015
Guntersville, AL
Ownership

1. 1000-3

2. 1000-5