P700m4 Reverse Issues

widopenspaces

widopenspaces

Supporting Member
Mar 9, 2023
Wellington, NV
Ownership

1. 1000-3
In researching possible answers to my problem I found none. That doesn't mean they aren't here somewhere, but as an FNG I am still learning navigation. Anyway, a couple months ago when using my buggy in the snow I went to back up and Reverse would not engage. It's happened several times since but always seems to come back. Today in anticipation of the possibility, I took the top three photos in the garage before backing out and using the rig around the property. Sure enough, about ten minutes later, I shifted into Reverse and it would not engage. The last photo is of the flat line in the window where the "R" normally appears and the "R" light did not come on either. I've heard it could be an issue with low oil, however, I just changed my oil/filter last week and I checked it again after the issue today and it was perfect. I also changed the rear differential oil. I've only got about 300 miles on the vehicle. I called Big Valley Honda where I purchased the buggy last May and made an appointment to have it checked (soonest April 27) so I wanted to see if any of you Pioneer 700 owners had ever experienced the same? The dealer had not and speculated it may be some kind of linkage issue. There was one post I found where someone had a similar issue and took it to the dealer but he never followed up with a resolution post. So, any feedback would be appreciated.

Hondasxs

Hondasxs

Club Founder
Staff member
Lifetime Member
Supporting Member
Feb 13, 2013
Charlotte, NC
HondaSxS.com
Ownership

1. 1000-5
When you shift, does it feel like it goes?
Does it grind or anything?
Does it feel different between a time it works and a time it doesn't?
When you shift, are you shifting soft and slow? Try it fast and more solid.

Would start at the linkage and/or gear position sensor.