P700 steep climb power out?

ronhuntin

ronhuntin

Mar 22, 2017
utah
Ownership

1. 700-4
I am a newbie at the Honda side by side and I just purchased a new 2017 700-4. I only have 50 miles on it and was climbing a hill about 75 yards long and barely inched over the top with everything it had. Will it get better as it breaks in or is that just the way it is? It was just me and my wife in the machine. The machine is warmed up and about a 60 degree angle. Not sure if being in auto mode instead of manual would help?? It didn't act like the tranny was slipping, just engine rpm's got less and less with it floored. The elevation is about 5500 feet.

Last edited:
Reactions: Plumber32
Tflynn

Tflynn

Not a liberal
Lifetime Member
Club Contributor
Jan 12, 2015
Northern California
Ownership

1. 700-2
How steep was the hill? And was the machine warmed up?

ronhuntin

ronhuntin

Mar 22, 2017
utah
Ownership

1. 700-4
How steep was the hill? And was the machine warmed up?
The machine was warmed up and I had it in auto mode. wondering if it was better in manual? It was probably about 12
percent incline just guessing. steep enough I didn't really want to go down backwards. The tires weren't spinning and the engine was not at high RPM's. Just got slower and slower until it almost stopped.

Reactions: Tmoose23
swsebek

swsebek

Red,White And Blue Collar Soul
Lifetime Member
May 4, 2014
pa
Ownership

1. 700-4
Sounds like it wasn't in 1rst gear for some reason.

swsebek

swsebek

Lifetime Member
May 4, 2014
pa
Ownership

1. 700-4
sometimes in auto mode you have to stop and it downshifts but you have paddles so try it in first,,It takes time to get used to the 700 shifting....

Reactions: Plumber32
ronhuntin

ronhuntin

Mar 22, 2017
utah
Ownership

1. 700-4
sometimes in auto mode you have to stop and it downshifts but you have paddles so try it in first,,It takes time to get used to the 700 shifting....
Thanks, I will try that the next time out. still learning the machine!

Tflynn