P700 Wiring Help for Newbie

R

Rerun7

Mar 19, 2019
Arkansas
Ownership

1. Do not currently own
Ok, so got my new p700 and of course I have to add some stuff, haha.

I’m pretty handy at most things but I’m a total newbie when it comes to any type of wiring. I’ve been trying to read some of the threads here but I’m thoroughly confused. I wired the light bar and relay to my truck but that’s the extent of my knowledge.

Here’s what I plan on adding: winch, front light bar, rear light pods and voltmeter.

Could someone walk me through some of the basics of how to get all this wired up? Some of the questions I have:

Do I need to add a fuse box?

Can I wire all the switches to the same 12v key on wire? (Maybe with a subharness?). Or do I need to tap into multiple 12v wires for some of it (i.e. winch on one, lights on another)

Can the battery handle all this or do I need a 2nd battery?

Thanks in advance for the help. I’d rather DIY if I can vs paying a shop to do it.

Reactions: sharp
Hondasxs

Hondasxs

Club Founder
Staff member
Lifetime Member
Supporting Member
Feb 13, 2013
Charlotte, NC
HondaSxS.com
Ownership

1. 1000-5

2. Talon R
Have you picked out your light bar yet? How many watts or amps?
It may require a relay and can work just like your truck did.
Rear light will most likely be a small draw and could run off just a fuse or even key on power if under 6 amps.
Winch and voltmeter are basically an irrilivant draw and can run off key on power without a fuse.

If that's all you want. That's all easy and you can do it.
No second battery needed for that.

For key on power. You can tap a wire. or buy a wire harness. I sell one here that is nice - KEY ON POWER Harness for Honda Pioneer 1000, 700, 500, and Talon 1000.

Post questions.

Reactions: sharp
R

Rerun7

Mar 19, 2019
Arkansas
Ownership

1. Do not currently own
Haven’t picked out the light bar yet. Wasn’t sure if I needed to stay under a certain amount of amps, etc. I had planned on installing a relay with it.