CID

CID

Lifetime Member
Supporting Member
Oct 27, 2019
SE Denver-ish
Ownership

1. Talon R
I'm new to the SxS world - damn, there's a lot to learn, hence this thread - maybe we can make it easier for others new to the Talon and put it in one thread.

1. If you're a motorcyclist, you already know that sometimes your bike won't shift into gear at a stop without rocking the bike back and forth. Maybe you know why this happens and maybe you don't. Motorcycle transmission and our Talon use shift dogs to engage gearing. Shift forks slide the gears sideways on a shaft, engaging the dogs into slots on an adjacent gear. If the dogs don't align with their slot, the transmission WILL NOT go into gear. If you don't get the dogs engaged, the gear will spin, slamming the corners of the dogs against their slots, chipping the brittle cast corners off the dogs. This damage is permanent and progressive, when it gets bad enough, your trany will jump out of gear. Proper gear engagement depends on the square corners on the shift dogs, once they're rounded off, the sub transmission has to come out to be repaired $$$.

There's a lot of talk about shift cable adjustment and the shift gate also adding to the problem but if the dogs aren't aligned with their slots they simply can't go into gear - rocking a SxS is a lot harder than rocking a motorcycle (duh :rolleyes:). If it's possible, it might help to put the Talon into High, move 6" and try again - yes inconvenient but so is removing the sub tran for a rebuild. :eek:

The Talon has a digital gear indicator showing P-R-N-H-L. If you aren't properly in gear it will show a dash - . Learn to check that you're actually in gear before applying throttle. Some have reported that this problem is worse when cold and will lessen once warmed up. Some are trying a lighter weight oil. Also, let your foot off the brake, you might move enough to allow the dogs to align with their slots.