P1000 Observations from first “real ride”

C

cras108er

Apr 19, 2019
Alaska
Ownership

1. 500
Took the “Great White Hope” our for its maiden (to me) voyage. My quick observations are:

This thing is SWEET.” Runs like a charm. Much more comfortable than my Foreman. The Mrs., who doesn’t impress easily(don’t ask me how she ended up with me), was immediately sold. Loved the manual paddle shift. Just had to remind myself to do it. :)

All of the recall work (including heat shield) was done just prior to purchase, but within half an hour the enclosed cab started to get pretty warm. It only got warmer as we went along. I could tell some of the heat was coming from the seat. Couldn’t tell where the rest came from - it wasn’t from the shifter. That heat will come in handy one of these days soon (just not today).

It will take a little getting used to the width. It took up most of the trail, and took more than its share of branches.

I’m new to SxS’s so it felt a little strange. Not being able to use my weight to counterbalance it. Was feeling more comfortable by the end, but definitely feels more too heavy than any ATV I’ve ridden in the past.

There is something about taking a machine out that you KNOW will have no problem making it back.

I did notice a “clunk” as it shifted from one gear to the other. Seems like a Honda thing, so I didn’t worry about it too much.

That’s it for now.

Last edited:
J

JTW

There’s a solenoid to adjust that.. but it’s nothing to worry about

Reactions: sharp
G

graybear

Nov 20, 2013
East Idaho
Ownership

1. 1000-5