P700 Starting - Walking through the steps

M

MRDMD19

Jan 15, 2021
Geneseo, NY
Ownership

1. 700-2
Newbie here. Just bought a 2016 700-2 with 12k miles on it from a farmer. Overall in nice condition, apart from the shovel fulls of dirt from removing the undercarriage guards! I’ve looked through all the threads and found helpful pieces but thought some of you vets might be able to walk me, and potentially others, through a troubleshooting pathway.
when I purchased, I noticed the machine turned over quite a number of times before it started, but when it bit, it purred immediately- no struggle. I figured she needed a tune up.To support, attached is a pic of the air filter. I did buy a brand new Yuasa battery as the battery was shot. Once home, it turned over and over, but never even barked. Followed manual procedure: no throttle, half throttle, full throttle — nothing. Tried later, lots of turning over then bit and purred perfectly. Drove it around - ran 100%. Stopped and started again immediately. Yes, in Park and Brake Pedal depressed at all times. Installed new plugs, changed oil/filter, cleaned the machine, installed new air filter, new final drive fluids. Started immediately following and ran perfect. Shut it off and came back an hour later - would not start. Gas is plentiful and reasonably fresh. Turn key and neutral light on, hear what sounds like a relay for a bit under the seat, wait, then turn over. Turns over perfectly but not even a bark. Now to the question: what is proper troubleshooting process: 1. Check for spark (pull plugs and hold against cylinder head - turn over- If no spark, then what? If spark, check for fuel - how? Perhaps a step by step on tracing back potentially spark and fuel problems would be helpful for many. In an aside, I recognize that electrical issues not related to spark may play a role - interlocks related to park lever, for example, may play a role. Open to checking everything and anything. Cheers!