What settings for stock Talon 2020R when riding rocky washes?

Doogle

Doogle

Nov 30, 2020
Surprise,Az Cincinnati,OH
Ownership

1. Talon R
I have no knowledge about settings for shocks and springs on my stock 2020 TalonR. I've not experimented in 700 miles of riding. I've been in some tipsy situations and wonder if different settings may have made things more stable and less exciting. Going over uneven ledges with one side dropping more than the other, would softer shock settings and different spring compressions help me? I haven't been to any high speed or sand areas yet, and don't think I will be anytime soon.

Reactions: Smitty335
JACKAL

JACKAL

Ancient Honda fanboi
Lifetime Member
Supporting Member
Club Contributor
Jun 11, 2015
Pioneer, TN
Ownership

1. Other Brand

2. 1000-5
Slow speed rocky / rough terrain typically the softest settings will give you the best ride.

As far as tippy, it might be the effects of the sway bars essentially tying both sides together. Disconnect the sway bar linkage on one side and try it, see it you like the better articulation of the suspension. Please note you will incur more body roll in higher speed turning without the swaybar linkage connected.

It all boils down to personal preference.

In the end you would probably benefit from softer dual rate spings on the shocks for low to moderate speed trail riding. These units are sprung very stiff in case the phony tough and crazy brave want to attack deep sand whoops at 50-60 mph, FOX use heavy springs to compensate for not using bottom out cups and proper internal valving to meet Honda spec requirements.

PaulF

PaulF

/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\
Lifetime Member
Jul 1, 2019
Utah
Ownership

1. Talon R
I have a Weller Racing "middle of the road" tune but the basic setting for different riding will be similar...