First diesel purchase

Robobrainiac

Robobrainiac

Lifetime Member
Jul 15, 2020
Missouri
Ownership

1. 1000-5
I am making my first diesel purchase. I am a GM mechanic and not biased to any particular brand so I don't mind working and tinkering. I am seeking some suggestions on what to look for and see if anyone has any input on what I am currently looking at. Basically as a dealer we get trade ins alot but not all of them are good deals. This one in particular is a 2003 ram 5.9 cummins quad cab 4x4. 205k miles. Exterior is rust free. Interior has all the common dodge trim issues. Cracked dash, tore center console, electric seat clicks while trying to move ect.. It's a stock truck with mbrp exhaust and gooseneck ball. I checked for blow by from the oil full cap and I feel no air. Other than that if runs, drives, and shifts awesome. The price is my favorite part. Second favorite part is I do like the 5.9 cummins. We decided on a diesel after our trip to Michigan. Our 06 Sierra 2500 gas got 8.4mpg round trip with the pioneer on a single axle 12ft trailer. From MO to MI. I know the ram mpg may fluctuate but I drove it all week and did not change my driving habits. Currently the ram is at 22.1 and Sierra is usually 10.5 so I am already impressed. The long term goal is a toy hauler type trailer to go to Michigan once a year with 2 four wheelers, 1 pioneer and a sleeping quarters. I am open to all comments. Thank you in advance.

Robobrainiac

Robobrainiac

Lifetime Member
Jul 15, 2020
Missouri
Ownership

1. 1000-5
I just wanted to point out that I chose to post here because I make the assumption that pioneer owners are cool enough to trailer their rides everywhere and would have good input :p

Alan_Vander

Alan_Vander

Mar 19, 2019
rosepine,la
Ownership

1. 700-4