P1000 Lights, switches, electrical

LandPioneer

LandPioneer

Lifetime Member
Aug 22, 2016
Lebanon TN
Ownership

1. 700-4
Also anyone got a link or suggestion for a connection to make my 12 Rock light wires connect to one? I have 6 only either side of the rig so I need to find something that I could use to make a 12 to one connection or two 6 to one connections and then a 2 to one connection.
Not sure which ones you have but my rock lights included wiring that made them hook together. I then only had one power and ground to hookup for all of the lights. If it didn't include that I would use a butt connector to connect all the power wires and ground wires down to one wire. I'd then run that to the fuse block. My rock lights require very little power, again I'm not sure which ones you are using.

1BadDart

1BadDart

Oct 21, 2016
W. KY
Ownership

1. 1000-3
May be a dumb question but I'm completely new to wiring and just starting my diagram for my spread on my p1k. The guy who build and sold me the Pdm mentioned to just ground all my accessories to their respective mounting brackets on a portion of bare metal. Does that mean I only need a hot wire going to all the accessories and no negative(black) wire run back to the negative on the battery? Or is he referring to some accessories that have a dedicated ground? Take for example my sound bar and light bars. Do I only run the hot wire to the item and the rest to bare metal? Thanks for the help in advance. It would definitely save allot of wiring but I don't want to start and finish only to have nothing work and realize I have to snake 50% more wires in to get the job done.

I'm not a fan of chassis grounds as I've seen them cause problems. IMO a ground buss is much better, it'll take more wire to do the job but could prevent headaches down the road.

Reactions: PioneerPete and JTW
Skud7272

Skud7272

Lifetime Member
Jul 10, 2016
Cencal
Ownership

1. 1000-5