Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Skeeterfx20

Jun 5, 2017
Hallsboro NC
Ownership

1. 1000-5
Hello I'm new to site, just bought pioneer 1000-5 deluxe 200 miles showroom condition! I'm not mud seeker just love riding kids, however I'm hearing a loud popping sound like somthing is in bind coming from rear end? It's at low speed 1-3
Mph and when I start to accelerate! I heard changing rear diff fluid would help somethings but not sure. If I do need change fluid what is best recommended thanks?

CumminsPusher

CumminsPusher

Just a Honda doing Honda things.
Lifetime Member
Supporting Member
Club Contributor
Oct 14, 2015
Washington/Idaho
Ownership

1. Other Brand

2. 1000-5

3. Talon X LV
Popping sound I don't like but people have different explanations. Amsoil 75-140 is great.

GlockMeister

GlockMeister

The Bearded Wonder
Lifetime Member
Supporting Member
May 11, 2016
Greenville, Mo
Ownership

1. 1000-5
Might check your cable adjustment.. diff lock may not be fully engaging/disengaging.I think it was @snuffnwhisky that was popping out of lock at RRB.

S

Skeeterfx20

Jun 5, 2017
Hallsboro NC
Ownership

1. 1000-5
It sounds like diff trying to engage and disengage could be the issue! Is that procedure hard to do?

Crow_Hunter

Crow_Hunter

May 18, 2016
Riding a Canned Ham.
Ownership

1. Do not currently own
I have had to adjust mine 3 or 4 times and when it was out pretty bad the first time, it would pop like that.

The procedure outlined in the manual should work, but sometimes it will get you close but you may have to make some further adjustments to tweak it in.

A great way to check it is to put it in Neutral (on level ground ;) ) and then shift it between 2WD and Turf. When it 2WD the cable going to the rear diff needs to be loose and kinda floppy, when in Turf it should be tight with no play. Shift back to Park (where it should also be loose) and make your adjustments.