P1000 Which skid plate to buy...

P

Piercej40

May 16, 2021
Ownership

1. 1000-5
I am new to this forum, so please excuse me if this topic has been brought up before. I am new to the whole side by side, UTA, off road thing. I am surprised that most places are selling a skid plate made of 1/4" plastic, or 3/16" aluminum. In my mind I thought there would be several companies selling steel plates. So I am asking the members of this forum to advise me on how to protect the underbelly of a 2021 pioneer 1000-5 deluxe.
Thank you in advance to all or anyone who replies.

Reactions: TripleB and TxDoc
tdhanses

tdhanses

Lifetime Member
Nov 17, 2020
Kansas
Ownership

1. 1000-5
Imo, get a 1/2” skid plate and one that covers the entire underside not just the center. I have the SATV skid plate and it was super easy to install without having to tip the machine over on its side.

BigOL3

BigOL3

Lifetime Member
Oct 27, 2017
Deep in the heart of Dixie, Kentwood, La.
Ownership

1. 1000-5

with discount ......

Hillbillytnt

Hillbillytnt

May 2, 2020
Ky
Ownership

1. 1000-3
I’m running the 3/8 UHMD tusk from Rocky Mountain it’s enough for me. If your into serious rock crawling I’d go 1/2.

rustyneversleeps

rustyneversleeps

Supporting Member
Mar 29, 2021
Montana
Ownership

1. 520

with discount ......
I wish they'd make a set for the 500/520...

Seadonist

Seadonist

Feb 8, 2021
New Orleans
Ownership

1. 1000-5
I only have experience with aluminum skid plates made by Ricochet so I can’t comment on the UHM material offered by other manufacturers. I live in the south so I don’t do any rock crawling but my main reason for getting the full under carriage plates are for CV boot protection and to protect from branches punching through my floor boards when I’m in the woods driving over small trees and fallen trees. The skids aren’t cheap but they’re not as expensive as a trip to the emergency room for being impaled by a branch.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

CID

CID