P1000m5 Wiring questions

C

Cohutta

Jun 25, 2016
NWGA
Ownership

1. 1000-5
I'm a DC wiring novice. I'm adding lights and a 2m ham radio to my P1k5. I have the aux battery and isolator installed and functioning properly. I have a wiring harness on the way with 5 relays on it. I have those relays planned for 1)front lights, 2)side lights, 3)rear lights, 4)interior lights, 5)fan under seat. It also has 10 fuses, one of which will go to the radio.

Questions:
- If I tap the brown "power on" wire for rocker switch lights, do I need a relay?
- If I add rear back-up lights(in addition to switched rear lights) and tap the back-up alarm wire, do I need a relay?

All lights are 18w LED, except the interior red LED. I'm not sure on its power.

Another question. Do you see a problem with mounting the radio bracket to the roof? I thought about under the driver's seat with a remote faceplate, but then realized I might end up in water.

ghost

ghost

Lifetime Member
Dec 4, 2015
BC
I like to keep my electrical isolated as much as possible from factory wiring. I use a switch and solenoid to power my aux systems.

- If I tap the brown "power on" wire for rocker switch lights, do I need a relay?
--> Not required but mine would be if I used it. Mine connect thru the aux solenoid and fused when the switch in on.
- If I add rear back-up lights(in addition to switched rear lights) and tap the back-up alarm wire, do I need a relay?
--> Not required but mine are. Since backup lights are ground triggered you probably need a different relay - your harness is probably + triggered

I think you're one the right track keeping anything that touches factory wiring powered thru relays. The only factory wiring I touch are:
- dual battery setup via isolator
- rear backup light via relay

Some - if not all of your relayed circuits (interior light, fan etc) could be run on fused lines if you want. Saving the relays for the heaviest power users.