Clutch temperature indicator

D

Daniil

May 1, 2023
Lithuania
Ownership

1. Talon X
Hi all, appeared with a strange problem, maybe someone knows how to solve it, Talon completely cold, air temperature, oil level okay, starting it and after 2-5 seconds the clutch temperature indicator comes on and flashes error on i-4wd, what could be the problem ?

Reactions: TxDoc
HBarlow

HBarlow

Lifetime Member
Jun 14, 2020
Daniels, WV
Ownership

1. 1000-3

2. Talon X
Miles/kilometers of use on machine?

I have no knowledge of how much or how your machine has been used or your skill level in using it so I'm guessing.

The DCT (dual clutch transmission) in Talons and Pioneer 1000s is a rugged, durable, efficient, and proven device but it requires a level of understanding to use it and keep it trouble-free.

People of older generations like myself who learned to drive with a manual transmission and foot clutch instinctively know how to use the DCT. Younger drivers who learned to drive with an automatic transmission may experience problems.

The basic secret to use of the Honda DCT is DO NOT use the throttle/accelerator pedal to hold the machine in place on a hill. If you want the machine to move, depress the pedal and drive. DO NOT continue to depress the accelerator pedal if free movement of the machine is prevented by a curb, log, rock, or other object.

Do not allow the engine to rev at an rpm above idle if the machine doesn't move. To do so is causing the friction clutches to slip which causes heat, wear, and failure.

D

Daniil

May 1, 2023
Lithuania
Ownership

1. Talon X
Miles/kilometers of use on machine?

I have no knowledge of how much or how your machine has been used or your skill level in using it so I'm guessing.

The DCT (dual clutch transmission) in Talons and Pioneer 1000s is a rugged, durable, efficient, and proven device but it requires a level of understanding to use it and keep it trouble-free.