Looking to buy, need help deciding what model

B

bldmtnrider

Jan 8, 2021
Longmont, CO
Ownership

1. 1000-5
New to the forum. My background is dirtbikes and that is still my love but not getting much riding in with kids. The bandaid for this has been ATVs and the wife takes a kid and I take a kid. Been limiting on trails since I don't want to do anything to crazy with a kid on an ATV and I still want to dirtbike. So, looking into a SxS for the wife to drive with a kid or 2. My son is learning on his dirtbike but terrain is limited and distance is limited. The hope is if the kid wants to dirtbike he and I can ride and my wife and daughter can follow along on a SxS, and then when he gets tired throw the Honda 70 in the back of the Pioneer and put the 2 kids in the SxS with the wife. Still need to double check bed length but that is the hope.

I suspect I will rarely drive this machine with the exception of getting the kids out of the wife's hair and a few hunting trips per year.

Problem is I can't for the life of me decide what model. Bouncing between the 700-4 and 1000-5 and then the sub models of the 1000-5. I live in Colorado so most of my riding will be jeep trails at low to moderate speeds. Concerned about the top speed on the 700. Would be usually going slow but occasionally would want to go over 45 (and still holding out hope that Colorado might one day legalize them on the road). The 3 person seat up front may also be a requirement if I want to put a little dirtbike in the back. I can figure out those challenges.

Questions I have is what is the actual top speed on the 700 vs 1000? Hate driving down the trail with the engine tapped out. Aside from price and weight any benefits of the 700 over the 1000?