P500 Pioneer 500 Or Ranger 500

bms

bms

Feb 3, 2019
Pa
Ownership

1. 500
Hello,
I am new to the forums, and currently in the market for a 500 sxs. I have been researching the Pioneer 500 and the Ranger 500. I know all the “on paper” differences between them, and I’ve driven both a few times. Both dealers are relatively close, and the cost difference is minor (Honda a little less).

I am new to atv’s and utv’s - never owned either. I am older (59), so no crazy riding - nothing super fast or dangerous. My main uses are:
  • Taking my 17 year old son, who has autism, for rides in the bush and teaching him to drive it.
  • Plowing my driveway.
  • My older son may drive it on bush roads near our home.
  • Minor, occasional yard work.
I have researched to the point of paralysis, and I’m looking for some advice from those who may know these machines. Any help would be appreciated!

Thank you!

alloutdoors

alloutdoors

Jan 21, 2018
US
Ownership

1. 500

2. 700-4

3. Do not currently own
Given the description for use, e.g., some riding around, training platform for a youngest, with minimal use around the yard so I would suggest a Honda Pioneer 500. The P500 is very robust and in my option, proportionally designed for riding/fun vs. work. On the other hand, the Ranger has a bed and likely very nimble for riding around, etc., but I view that proportionally more work, then play. Either unit will do what you want, but I would lean towards the Honda….

Reactions: sharp and 500oneer
trigger

trigger

Old Ironsides
Vendor
Lifetime Member
Supporting Member
Feb 13, 2016
Bay City, Michigan
www.quickshieldutv.com
Ownership

1. 500
Hello,
I am new to the forums, and currently in the market for a 500 sxs. I have been researching the Pioneer 500 and the Ranger 500. I know all the “on paper” differences between them, and I’ve driven both a few times. Both dealers are relatively close, and the cost difference is minor (Honda a little less).