• Welcome to HONDASXS.com

    If you are a guest please take time to REGISTER with us. Stay up to date on the Honda Side by Side line and take part in our online forum. Check out the FAQ. Once you register you can start to make post. Users will respond to your question or statement. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit below or click the board index to see a list of all forums. Thanks and have fun.

P500 Call for winch wiring help??

Discussion in 'Pioneer 500 Accessories and Modifications' started by Mudder, Sep 18, 2018.

  1. Mudder

    Mudder Patriot Rider
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    Messages:
    3,039
    Likes Received:
    10,184
    Location:
    Georgia
    Ownership:
    500
    Been having PM with newer member @HP5NC about wiring winch, and suggesting a run of heavy guage wire to under hood/junction posts and using a switched circuit breaker near battery. He plans to add front light bar, etc later. Searched some old threads but wondering if someone has a simple line type diagram or other tips that might help. Throwing this out there, many good worded posts, but hoping for a visual aid also. He a is intersted in components needed, and plans to use sub harness and add voltmeter, which I did not install. Thanks.
    One good example of finished work IMO. P500 - SuperAtv winch
     
    #1 Mudder, Sep 18, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2018
    HP5NC likes this.
  2. HP5NC

    HP5NC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2018
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    259
    Location:
    NC
    Ownership:
    500
    Thanks @Mudder as I stated earlier I have wired winches in the past. But I’ve never used any kind of circuit protection. I’ll be installing a badlands 3500. Going to upgrade the solenoid/contactor from the get go and better wiring, probably buy a cheap set of 4 or 6 jumper cables about 12 or 16’ should give me plenty of length needed. Also up grading to synthetic rope and hawse from the get go. Just safer and especially when my young son is with me. The volt meter I bought was off amazon for 10 bucks. It hard wires in an had digital read out and two USB ports. Will most likely put it just to the left of the Speedometer in that little indention there. Any tips to wire this winch up properly with some circuit protection is appreciated. I will be using the KFI mount and want to use the Honda accessory subharness as well. Thanks Josh
     
  3. ohanacreek

    ohanacreek My EcoBoost has I4WD
    Moderator Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Messages:
    9,978
    Likes Received:
    25,415
    Location:
    Shelby County, Alabama
    Ownership:
    1000-5
    I used 2ga cables, a 300amp circuit breaker (12v) on a 4500lbs winch. Warn has their winch draws posted so does MotoAlliance. You can configure circuits so many ways depending on how you want them to interact. Just like plumbing. I don’t think you’re going to get anything specific to what you’re doing unless you are copying someone else exactly.
     
    HP5NC likes this.
  4. HP5NC

    HP5NC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2018
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    259
    Location:
    NC
    Ownership:
    500
    I guess I really just need to know what kind of circuit breaker I’d need, where to place it on the machine within the system and how to wire it tying all together.
     
  5. ohanacreek

    ohanacreek My EcoBoost has I4WD
    Moderator Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Messages:
    9,978
    Likes Received:
    25,415
    Location:
    Shelby County, Alabama
    Ownership:
    1000-5
    As close to the battery as possible, but somewhere you can get to it and out of mud and water possible, a rating higher than the stall amp draw on your winch Its to prevent a short on that 2ga wire from burning the machine down (breakers usually come in 200-250-300amp flavors).

    I used the feed wires to my contactor as buss points....yeah I know its not ideal but a 10ga wire from it to my fuse block to the 2ga feed wire on my contactor won't hurt anything and I have a good ground and positive feed.
     
    Mudder and HP5NC like this.
  6. HP5NC

    HP5NC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2018
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    259
    Location:
    NC
    Ownership:
    500
    I think I understand what your saying @ohanacreek.

    Not to get off topic. But is a circuit breaker “Necessary”?? I ask because I’ve never used them with my atvs. And I know there’s lots of winches being run out there without circuit breakers. Just thought I’d get some opinions on it. Main reason I want to use one this go round is because of some small wattage accessory lights I’d like to install down the road.
     
    SouthParkColorado likes this.
  7. ohanacreek

    ohanacreek My EcoBoost has I4WD
    Moderator Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Messages:
    9,978
    Likes Received:
    25,415
    Location:
    Shelby County, Alabama
    Ownership:
    1000-5
    You don’t need one, I have one just in case that 8’ long positive wire I have running from battery under seat to my front winch grounds to the frame it will hopefully trip and not burn.

    You’ll need a fuse block for small accessories either way.

    There are 1000 ways to skin that cat.
     
  8. trigger

    trigger Old Ironsides
    Vendor Lifetime Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2016
    Messages:
    5,486
    Likes Received:
    14,792
    Location:
    Bay City, Michigan
    Ownership:
    500
    BuckCreek01, Mudder and HP5NC like this.
  9. ohanacreek

    ohanacreek My EcoBoost has I4WD
    Moderator Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Messages:
    9,978
    Likes Received:
    25,415
    Location:
    Shelby County, Alabama
    Ownership:
    1000-5
    I have a Rowe PDM60. They have a newer version out now.
     
    trigger likes this.
  10. trigger

    trigger Old Ironsides
    Vendor Lifetime Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2016
    Messages:
    5,486
    Likes Received:
    14,792
    Location:
    Bay City, Michigan
    Ownership:
    500
  11. ohanacreek

    ohanacreek My EcoBoost has I4WD
    Moderator Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Messages:
    9,978
    Likes Received:
    25,415
    Location:
    Shelby County, Alabama
    Ownership:
    1000-5
    Compared to a full on waterproof fuse box and relays not really and MUCH smaller about the size of a deck of cards.
     
  12. Mudder

    Mudder Patriot Rider
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    Messages:
    3,039
    Likes Received:
    10,184
    Location:
    Georgia
    Ownership:
    500
    Not an electrician, but use light switches daily.
    Thinking Breaker amp rating sould be no higher than the smallest wire rating in the circuit, or could fry that weakest section of wire, (supplied 6 gauge motor leads). Manual shows 232 amp max for the 3500. I went just a bit lower on circuit breaker amp rating as a safety factor as it is a easy re-rest.

    If I ever max out/stall winch or trip the breaker, would likely do a snatch block to reduce stress on winch and battery draw. Would not be surprised if some reported winch failures could be due to exceeding duty cycle times and causing overheats. About 15 min. cool down after 45 sec of use at max.

    https://manuals.harborfreight.com/manuals/61000-61999/61257.pdf

    5770EC39-BC98-4832-8613-A8CC95112826.jpeg A0454A9E-A4E2-4B6E-882F-BB65349D2283.jpeg 9350864D-B5A3-47B8-BEFE-15CBA0891AA6.jpeg
     
    #12 Mudder, Sep 19, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2018
    BuckCreek01 and HP5NC like this.
  13. ohanacreek

    ohanacreek My EcoBoost has I4WD
    Moderator Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Messages:
    9,978
    Likes Received:
    25,415
    Location:
    Shelby County, Alabama
    Ownership:
    1000-5
    Very good point, mine are rated at 306-309amp draws something like that from Viper.

    I’ve tripped the 300a breaker twice on first layer pulls.

    I am less worried about the winch than I am about going full Polaris
     
  14. HP5NC

    HP5NC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2018
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    259
    Location:
    NC
    Ownership:
    500
    Mudder I was in oriellys last night. Had to get a new battery for the wife’s Ford Escape. They had this exact circuit breaker in there 150 amp. 32 bucks is that what I need? Hook to the hot wire (positive) coming off the red lead from the solenoid to the battery? As close to the P5 battery as possible?
     
  15. Mudder

    Mudder Patriot Rider
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    Messages:
    3,039
    Likes Received:
    10,184
    Location:
    Georgia
    Ownership:
    500
    Thats what I did, you can always replace it with a higher one in if needed, as long all wiring is done with proper size now, (has not tripped yet). At least it will let you proceed.

    Most labor for me was taking off skid plates, and putting plastic split wire sheath/loom (inexpensive) on as extra rub protection. Zip tied wire route to avoid potential heat or rub wear issues over long term. Maybe overkill, but full confidence won’t ever have to do it again, and the split loom makes it look better IMO.

    00782514-9DDA-4F41-9795-E7FE14F0F4F5.jpeg
     
    #15 Mudder, Sep 20, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2018
    BuckCreek01 and HP5NC like this.
  16. HP5NC

    HP5NC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2018
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    259
    Location:
    NC
    Ownership:
    500
    So I haven’t bought the badlands 3500 just yet. Only some of the things I need for it or any winch. BUT I’m really torn between the badlands and the SuperAtv 3500 black ops winch. I really like the superatv but I just haven’t been able to find a lot of real world feed back on it. Some but not much. I think it’s newer for superatv. What I have read on it seems positive. I’m sure it’s made in China like most winches today. It’s 199 for the superatv 3500 black ops. I really like the way they have they wirOmg harness setup on it. So so very simple. Only I wish the superatv winch included was a corded remote also. Comes with rocket switch an wireless. There’s about 65 dollar difference between going with the badlands 3500 and the superatv. I’m really torn between these two winches. I know the badlands is a good little winch for the money hard to beat it. But I do like this superatv black ops 3500 for 199.
     
  17. HP5NC

    HP5NC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2018
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    259
    Location:
    NC
    Ownership:
    500
    Thanks I’ll probably pick one up in the next couple days then. Should be pretty simple to wire that in.
     
  18. HP5NC

    HP5NC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2018
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    259
    Location:
    NC
    Ownership:
    500
    I’m going to give superatv a call today. I’m curious what size gage wire they use and how many feet they give you. If the wires included will suffice then that saves me having to get some cheap 4 or 6 gage jumper cables if I do get the bandlands.
     
  19. Mudder

    Mudder Patriot Rider
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    Messages:
    3,039
    Likes Received:
    10,184
    Location:
    Georgia
    Ownership:
    500
    Never used corded remote, added the inexpensive wireless remote. Don’t let a few bucks deter you, get what you feel good about. Other product reviews via Amazon?
     
    BuckCreek01 and HP5NC like this.
  20. HP5NC

    HP5NC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2018
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    259
    Location:
    NC
    Ownership:
    500
    So I called superatv at the wiring on their black ops 3500 winch is two six foot sections 8 gage. I was hoping it was 6 gage at least. That’s weak leak with the badlands from my understanding is the wiring harness and components. Thought maybe IF I went with the superatv winch I could avoid buying 4 or 6 gage jumper cables to use. I mean I guess the 8 gage wires superatv uses is ok. Their winch puts more power out than the badlands. It’s 1.3 hp with 170:1 gear ratio. Badlands is 133:1 and forget the horsepower. Anyway I’m not sure winch way to go. Probably just stick with the badlands?
     
    BuckCreek01 likes this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
Loading...